Society Awards

Frances W. Doane Award

The Frances W. Doane Award is an honorary membership for exceptional contribution to microscopy, related branches of science, and/or the Microscopical Society of Canada.

Frances W. Doane was one of the seven founding members of the Microscopical Society of Canada in 1972. She was its treasurer from 1972 to 1981 and its bulletin editor from 1973 to 1992. For her great contribution to the MSC, she was made an honorary member in 1989 and the Honorary Membership Award was renamed in her honour in 2002.

Gérard T. Simon Award

The Gérard T. Simon Award is presented for the best presentation given by a student or technologist. The presentation may be oral or poster format. The award is made on the basis of the scientific quality and the quality of the presentation (oral communication or poster).

Candidates must be graduate students enrolled at a Canadian university or associated with a research director who is a regular member of the Microscopical Society of Canada. Candidates may also be technologists who have been employed for no longer than five years at a Canadian institution.

The candidate must be the main or sole author of the abstract.

This year's awards were given to:

Materials Science:
Sagar Prabhudev
Dept. of Materials Science and Engineering
McMaster University
Posters Presentation: Probing Phase Transformation and Electrocatalysis of Pt-Alloy Nanoparticles Using Scanning Transmission Electron Microscopy
Biological Sciences:
Martin Smith
The Hospital for Sick Children
University of Toronto
Talk: Characterization Of VacA Using Electron Cryomicroscopy

CFDM Award

The Canadian Foundation for the Development of Microscopy (CFDM) is a charitable organization whose aim is to promote the development of microscopy and associated techniques. Part of its mandate is to provide funds for educational opportunities for young scientists. We are offering awards to assist with the travel expenses of Canadian university students to participate in the national and international conferences and workshops. Each year, CFDM holds spring and fall competitions, with the spring competition giving priority to applicants attending the annual meeting of the Microscopical Society of Canada.

The Board of the CFDM reviews submissions by students and evaluates them according to the following criteria: scientific merit, significance of the research, creativity and a letter of reference.

The application deadline for the spring competition is March 31st except for a year when MSC meets jointly with MSA and MAS at the Microscopy & Microanalysis conference. For the fall competition, students should submit their applications by November 30th. Recipients are notified electronically and announced on the website.

Following are documents to help you in your application:

The fall 2017 competition award winners were:

Aida Razi, a PhD student in Prof. Joaquin Ortega’s lab in the Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology at the McGill University, who will attend the Ribosome Biogenesis conference in Sherbrooke (August 2018) and present her paper entitled “GTPase Facilitates the Maturation of the Small Ribosomal Subunit in Bacteria.” Alexei Kazarine, a PhD student in Prof. Paul W. Wiseman’s lab in the Departments of Physics and Chemistry at the McGill University, who will attend the 62nd Annual Meeting of the Biophysical Society in San Francisco, California (February 2018) and present his poster entitled “Characterization of Malaria Detection based on Third Harmonic Generation Imaging of Hemozoin.”

Congradulations to both winners!