Council

Council Status

President

Joaquin Ortega


Joaquin Ortega is an Associate Professor at McMaster University and studies antimicrobial targets using cry-electron microscopy and single particle techniques.

http://db.tt/uThr8iZa
ortegaj@mcmaster.ca



First Vice -President

Marek Malac


Marek Malac is a senior researcher at the National Institute for Nanotechnology and an Adjunct Professor at the Department of Physics, University of Alberta.

http://tem-eels.ca/mmalac_tem-eels_2013/Marek_Front_1.html
mmalac@phys.ualberta.ca



Second Vice-President

Kathryn Grandfield


Kathryn Grandfield is Assistant Professor of Materials Science and Engineering at McMaster University. She investigates biomaterials interfaces and biomineralization using electron tomography and atom probe tomography.

www.kgrandfield.mcmaster.ca
kgrandfield@mcmaster.ca



Secretary

Jeff Fraser


jeff-fraser@rogers.com


Treasurer

Pierre-Mathieu Charest


pierre-mathieu.charest@fsaa.ulaval.ca









Past President

Michael Robertson


Michael Robertson is a Professor in the Department of Physics at Acadia University and studies the structural, optical and electrical properties of a wide variety of materials using electron microscopic techniques.

http://physics.acadiau.ca/michael-robertson.html
michael.robertson@acadiau.ca





Councillors-At-Large

Youssef Chebli

Youssef Chebli is the operational manager of the imaging facilities of the Plant Institute and the department of Anthropology of the University of Montreal.

youssef.chebli@umontreal.ca





Stefano Rubino

Stefano Rubino is the sales and services representative for Western Canada at Soquelec Limited.

https://www.soquelec.com
stefano@soquelec.com





Zygmunt Jakubek

Zygmunt J. Jakubek is a Research Council Officer with the Measurement Science and Standards portfolio of the National Research Council Canada. He develops nanoscale measurement, characterization, and optical imaging techniques and studies nanoarchitectures and biomolecular interactions by photophysical methods.

zygmunt.jakubek@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca



Jose Moran-Mirabal

Jose Moran-Mirabal is Assistant Professor in the Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology at McMaster University. Jose’s research combines the strengths of micro/nanofabrication, biomolecular patterning, and single molecule and super-resolution fluorescence microscopy to study biomolecular interactions in vitro.

http://www.chemistry.mcmaster.ca/moran-mirabal/index.html
mirabj@mcmaster.ca


Nabil Bassim

Nabil Bassim is an associate professor at the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at McMaster University.

https://ccem.mcmaster.ca/
bassimn@mcmaster.ca



Aycan Yurtsever

Aycan Yurtsever is a Turkish-Canadian physicist, currently a Canada Research Chair at Université du Québec's Institut national de recherche scientifique.

http://www.inrs.ca/aycan-yurtsever
aycan.yurtsever@emt.inrs.ca





Chloe van Oostende

Chloe van Oostende is the operations manager and microscope specialist of the Cell Biology and Image Acquistion Core Facility at the Faculty of Medicine of UOttawa, Canada.

http://med.uottawa.ca/core-facilities/facilities/cbia






Ex-Officio

Executive Secretary

Line Mongeon



line.mongeon@mcgill.ca







Bulletin Editor

Nadi Braidy


Nadi Braidy is Assistant Professor at the Department of Chemical and Biotechnological Engineering at Université de Sherbrooke. He develops catalytic nanomaterials and investigates advanced materials with transmission electron microscopy techniques.

nadi.braidy@usherbrooke.ca



Bulletin Editor Manager

Dianne Moyles

dmoyles@uoguelph.ca

Webmaster

Marin Lagacé


Marin Lagacé is a research at the Hydro-Québec Research Institute. His main field of study is the quantitative microstructural characterization of the different components used in the fabrication of rechargeable lithium batteries used in storage and automotive applications.

lagace.marin@ireq.ca

Section Chairperson

Alberta

Marek Malac


Marek Malac is a senior researcher at the National Institute for Nanotechnology and an Adjunct Professor at the Department of Physics, University of Alberta.

http://tem-eels.ca/mmalac_tem-eels_2013/Marek_Front_1.html
mmalac@phys.ualberta.ca



Atlantic

Craig Bennett


Craig Bennett is Professor of Physics at Acadia University and uses transmission electron microscopy to study phase transformations in metals and alloys.

http://physics.acadiau.ca/craig-bennett.html
craig.bennett@acadiau.ca




Ontario

Jeff Fraser


jeff.fraser@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca

Pacific

Garnet Martens


Garnet Martens is the Research Manager of the UBC Bioimaging Facility located at the University of British Columbia, Point Grey Campus.

http://www.bioimaging.ubc.ca/
gmartens@interchange.ubc.ca




Quebec

Line Mongeon



line.mongeon@mcgill.ca