MSC-SMC Award Recipient

Impact Award

The objective of the Impact Award is to recognize a substantial impact to the microscopy community by a student, postdoctoral fellow, technician or research associate through the publication of scientific work.
2023Karuna KapoorMcGill University

Alex Kiepas

McGill University
2021Niloufar KhosraviUniversity of Toronto 
2021Amal SeffouhMcGill University 


Early Career Investigator Award

The objective of the Early Career Investigator Award is to recognize the research achievements of a Canadian microscopist within the early stages of his/her career as a Principal Investigator.
2022Maureen Joel LagosMcMaster University
2020Nadi BraidySherbrooke University


Frances W. Doane Award

The objective of the Frances W Doane award is to recognize the valuable service and contributions that an individual made to the Microscopy Society of Canada.

Frances W. Doane was one of the seven founding members of the Microscopy Society of Canada in 1972. She was the treasurer from 1972 to 1981 and the Bulletin editor from 1973 to 1992. For her great contribution to the MSC, she was made an honorary member in 1989 and the Honorary Membership Award was renamed to her tribute in 2002.

2022Alan MaignéUniversity of British Columbia
2020Anja GeitmannMcGill University


Student Leadership Award

The objective of the Student Leadership Award is to recognize student engagement and leadership in the microscopy field and particularly within MSC-SMC organization, events, and student chapters. 
2023Zhina RazaghiUniversity of Manitoba

Liza-Anastasia DiCecco

McMaster University

GT Simon Award

The GT Simon Awards are made on the basis of the scientific quality and the quality of oral or poster presentation made at the MSC-SMC Annual Meeting.
2023Mehdi MosayebiMcMaster University

Dominic Arpin

McGill University


Technologist Award

The objective of the MSC Technologist Award is to honour a MSC member who has made significant contributions to advancement of microscopy research or training through their role as a technologist in a Canadian university, industry or government facility.
2023Mouhanad BabiMcMaster University

Kelly Sears

McGill University
2019Jeannie MuiMcGill University


Lifetime Achievement  Award

The objective of the Lifetime Achievement Award is to honour a distinguished member of the Canadian microscopy community who has made significant long-term contributions impacting the field at both a national and international level.

Ray Egerton

University of Alberta


© Copyright 2024 MSC-SMC. All Rights Reserved. Web Development by Adeo